Guess What I Did A Few Days Ago?


Did I engage in some act of debauchery that will be explained and celebrated (with photos) for all in the blogosphere to read, view and enjoy?

No.

Did I engage in some act that seemed right at the time but soon turned out to be wrong and will be exposed for all in the blogosphere, as subsequent proof of why I am a horrible human being and I deserve all the bad things that have befallen me in my life?

No.

Actually, I entered a contest.  No, the contest did not involve debauchery or literary self-flagellation.  Rather it was a simple and fun contest, sponsored by Mubi.com and the Chicago Sun-Times, whereby people are invited to outguess Roger Ebert’s Oscar picks. The person or persons who correctly pick all Oscar winners gets a $100,000. So, I sent in my picks and I’ll let you know in a later entry what they are and if I won anything.

Yes, I admit it, I’m a contest junkie. If all I have to do is send in my name and address or answer a few questions, I’m in. Yet, this contest got me thinking. (Here we go again.) While the Academy Awards are the granddaddy of all awards shows and only members of the Academy of Motion Picture Sciences can vote, in the end picking the Oscar winners are as much popularity contest, as they are, “This seems like a good pick”, as they are “This is the Oscars, we care about art of film” as they are “Einny, Meanny, Minney, Moe”  In the contest, I tried to pick films that weren’t hailed by the critics as Oscar favorites, but in my mind, they had a chance. Then again, I’m no cinema scholar. I’m not a member of the Academy. I’m just an ordinary Jane who sells movie posters and blogs about collecting, movie posters and pop culture. Therefore, my choices are just as good or bad as anyone else’s.

So, if you are planning to watch the Oscars, have fun watching the spectacle. Just know that most, if not all, of the people who voted for the nominees aren’t anymore smarter or more cultured than you are.

To learn more about the contest go to: http://mubi.com/oscars.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

